top of page

About Elie Bruyninckx, Co-Founder, Chairman

With a master’s degree (magna cum laude) in Electro-Mechanical Engineering (KU Leuven – Campus De Nayer) and after graduating (magna cum laude) in the specialized studies of Accountancy and Financial Auditing (VUB - Brussels Humanities, Sciences & Engineering Campus), Elie started his career in 1994 in the aviation sector as Line Maintenance Manager at Sabena. 2 years later, he became Technical Director at Air Belgium and joined Sobelair 2 years later as Technical and Leasing Director. Afterwards in 2000, Elie served as COO and CEO for Jetair, the Belgian market leading tour operator and created the vertical integrated airline Jetairfly in 2003, to support an innovative hybrid business model leveraging the synergy between packages and flight only sales. In 2016 Jetair and Jetairfly were successfully rebranded into TUI and TUI fly Belgium under Elie’s supervision.  


Since the start, TUI fly implemented a self-supply approach to fuel its fleet in the Belgian airports. In this context, Elie became a Statutory Director of the fuel storage company at Brussels Airport, HRS (Hydrant Refuelling System) in 2004 and has been recently appointed as Chairman of the Board.  


Consequently, Elie Bruyninckx has fulfilled international functions within the TUI Group starting from October 2012 when he became Member of the Mainstream Sector Board of TUI Travel PLC; which later became the Mainstream Board of TUI Group. Since January 2014 he is responsible for the TUI activities in Belgium and the Netherlands as CEO of TUI BeNe. Moreover, from November 2012 until December 2013, he was Chairman of the Airline Steering Group at TUI Travel PLC.


Elie was appointed Member of the Group Executive Committee of TUI AG when the Group reorganised its formerly Mainstream Segment, which was divided into three regions. Since June 2015, Elie is responsible for the Western Region including Belgium, the Netherlands, France and Morocco. 


Elie has also been elected as “Man of the Year” at the Travel Magazine Travel Awards in 2004, 2013 and 2016 and as “Man of the Year” of the Aviation Press Club in 2010. 

bottom of page